Vistronic – Creation – Evolution – Origins of life

January 22, 2008

Bible Zone 2/10/2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — vistronic @ 9:51 pm

title: Bible zone

Vistronic
2/10/2004 2:03 AM 1 out of 182

Hello,
This is the Bible zone welcome.
Here I would like to discuss Creationism and the Bible.
The Bible is the prime source for much, (if not all) the main ideas of creationism IMHO.
(Of course natural observations also play a factor.)
Speaking for myself one of the main reasons I reject “evolution” is because it goes against my religous teachings AND how I interpret the Bible.
(and frankly it just feels wrong.)
With this in mind I think it is important that we exame what the Bible says in regards to creation.

Genesis 1
1. In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.

Well thats a great start, I will be qouting the KJV by the way as that to me “feels right”.

Cont.
31. And God saw every thing that he had made, and, behold, it was very good. And the evening and the morning were the sixth day.

I therefore submit that what God calls good is good.
I do not hold to the framework put forth by Teilhard and others here that CREO’s view creation as evil.

1. God created.
2. It was very good.

Can we all agree on this?

Vis.

BTW,
I am working on a Bible timeline I hope to post…..
(:
Vis.

Genesis 3

17) And unto Adam he said, Because thou hast hearkened unto the voice of thy wife, and hast eaten of the tree, of which I commanded thee, saying, Thou shalt not eat of it: cursed is the ground for thy sake; in sorrow shalt thou eat of it all the days of thy life; 18 Thorns also and thistles shall it bring forth to thee; and thou shalt eat the herb of the field; 19 In the sweat of thy face shalt thou eat bread, till thou return unto the ground; for out of it wast thou taken: for dust thou art, and unto dust shalt thou return.

“cursed is the ground for thy sake;”
This is as close as I can see to creation falling at the fall, but I think here it is talking about man being at odds with it, or not insync, or tilling it…
cursed? Hmmmm I am not sure that fits creation as evil?

Hello,
I think each received a penalty to look at it objectively. The snake, the woman, the man.

Sexist? I don’t think so. There is a very real effect women have on or over men, I don’t see the point in denying that, BUT each person is accountable for his own behaviour. That said it is easier to smoke pot if someone hands it to you, it is easyer to drink in the Bar then at the church, and it is just a little easier to eat a apple if someone gives it to you… but note this..

“6) And when the woman saw that the tree was good for food, and that it was pleasant to the eyes, and a tree to be desired to make one wise, she took of the fruit thereof, and did eat, and gave also unto her husband with her; and he did eat.”

Very little is said of Adams state of mind at that point..

“And Adam gave names to all cattle, and to the fowl of the air, and to every beast of the field; but for Adam there was not found an help meet for him. 21 And the LORD God caused a deep sleep to fall upon Adam, and he slept: and he took one of his ribs, and closed up the flesh instead thereof; 22 And the rib, which the LORD God had taken from man, made he a woman, and brought her unto the man. 23 And Adam said, This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man. 24 Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh. 25″

This sheds more light on the discussion…

” 24 Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.”

One flesh being equal so rejoice!

Vis.
Vistronic
2/11/2004 1:30 PM 89 out of 182

Hello members,

BCW,
The Idea that the curse caused the appearance of old age to the earth
is a interesting idea that I had not thought of before, I think in the literal context
a change in structure is indicated but a time warp so to speak is not implied to the best of my current understanding. I will check the Hebrew.

Adam,
I am working on an Old testament chronology going by established dates given by scholars, the reason is when I study the old testament I like to have some idea of the time line as to when a certain part took place, a order so to speak (more then a locked in date), as the library of books we call the Bible have a overlapping order. This is more a study aid for me, I think others may find it helpful, in regards to this Genesis 1-2 is not given a date by many scholars, as a matter of fact either is the flood.
The term indefinite period of time could apply to the six days of creation with out any stretching the truth according to many, the 7th day of rest some say is still going on! Notice the seventh day is not called the Sabbath at this point, also it has no evening mentioned.

The most interesting statement is,
“These are the generations of the Heaven and Earth”
Generations!? 7- 24 hour days are generations?

That said I don’t dismiss 7 – 24 hour days out of hand it warrants study.
There has been much study in this area, there is no need to dismiss the work of the scholars who have gone before us.

The main thing for me is to read and study the Bible it is….. Fun!

Vis.
Vistronic
2/13/2004 10:16 AM 142 out of 182

Hello,
What a interesting conversation.
I would like to share a little of what’s been going on with me in regards to the Bible not to interrupt anything.

Lately after Friar Teilhards admonishments I have been reading the Bible a lot more. I started at Genesis and now I am in the book of psalms I am trying to read straight through to revelations. I have read many if not all the Books before piece meal here and there so now I am on this journey. Currently I am reading the Living Bible as I am trying to read it like a Book, I do of course have many different translations as I like to visit used Book stores.

My main Bible for many years has been the KJV version Holman study Bible though its now falling apart, I think next I will read either the NKJV or RSV or NEB problem not the NIV though.

I use to have a catholic Bible and study books but over the years I have misplaced them, so I am going to the used book store again. Contrary to what many may think I have no aversion to the catholic Bible and such (it includes the apocrypha BTW) I think there are many saved catholic’s, I use to be on the war path against them (I have most if not all the chick tracts and comics lots of anti-catholic ammunition there!) but I have changed my view.

I now think ” If they are not against us, they are for us” as Jesus said in regards to the group casting demons out in his name put they where not one of “them”.

The Bible so far (to me) is more concerned with people getting right with God.

I wonder sometimes if I have offended anybody against that concept by my arrogance and “Fundy” rap.
If I have I am sorry.

Vis.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

